The transition to openSUSE Leap 42.2

I’m now up and running on 42.2.  The official announcement was on Wednesday.  I’ll note that I am not calling this a review.  The final release is not much different from RC2, which I reviewed earlier.

Main desktop

I downloaded the DVD installer, using “aria2c”.  I then “burned” that to a USB.  I then booted that USB to install on my main desktop.

This was a clean install.  I kept the previous 42.1 on a separate disk area.  That way I can boot either.

After installing, I was switching between 42.1 and 42.2.  I needed to tweak the new install to suit my needs.  And booting to 42.1 allowed me to get my work done.  By Thursday, I had completed the switch, and I am now running 42.2.

Other computers

For my other computers, I updated the already installed RC2 (release candidate 2) to the final version.  For that, I plugged in the USB, and made sure that it was enabled as a repo.  I then did

# zypper refresh
# zypper dup

And that updated to the final release.  Most of the software came from the USB installer, with the online repos being used for anything not on the installer.

The install experience

This was the smoothest linux install that I have ever experienced.  There were only a few minor quirks and no serious problems.  The release team at openSUSE have managed this release very well.  The previous release (42.1) was a bit hectic as it was the first in the Leap series.  And, before that, releases were alway a bit hectic, deciding which fact ory packages to include in the new release.

I am very much liking how openSUSE is handling things today.  The Tumbleweed series are pretty much the old factory, except that they have been well tested in openQA, so that they are usually pretty solid.  I am not hearing reports that “factory is broken”.  Tumbleweed is pretty good for those who want a rolling release that is close to the state of the art.  And, for those of us who prefer some stability, the Leap series is looking very good.

Changes from 42.1

Overall, 42.2 is an updated 42.1.  For KDE users, the newer 5.8.2 release of Plasma 5 is noticeable different from the version that was used in 42.1.  It is my understanding that there will be an update to Plasma 5.8.3 before long, and this will show up as a regular update.

Because I did a clean install, I have “akregator5” rather than the older “akregator” from KDE4.  My understanding is that, if I had instead done an upgrade, I would still use the “akregator” from KDE4 (it is in the 42.2 repos).  Something similar is true for “kmail”, though I have not been using that.

Another change for me, is that I decided to install “rsyslog”.  With 42.1, I took the default of having systemd manage logging.  But after a year of experience, I’m reverting to a more traditional way of managing the logs.  I like to  be able to occasionally scan logs, and that’s harder when systemd is managing them.

The biggest “Oops”

The worst problem that I found, was when I tried to boot Windows on Thursday evening.  There was no Windows entry in the grub boot menu.  This was not a major problem.  I hit CTLR-ALT-DEL to reboot, and then hit F12 while booting.  The BIOS UEFI boot menu allowed me to select Windows.  Note that I boot windows twice a week just to update the anti-virus.

After booting back into opensuse, I investigated.  I could not see anything wrong, except the missing entry in the boot menu.  So I updated the boot menu with:

# grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg

and that fixed the problem.  I’m not sure why it did not generate that entry during the install.  Perhaps the presence of too many UEFI options (due to the installer USB being there) confused it.

If that was my worst “Oops”, then the install went very smoothly indeed.

 

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

