Using flash from adobe repo

With Leap 42.1, opensuse no longer provides the flash plugin for firefox.  However, the folk who maintain the packman repos have added flash there.  So I have been using flash from packman until now.

Unfortunately, the flash in packman is a tad out of date.  And I’m getting annoyed at firefox telling me that flash is vulnerable and requiring me to jump through extra hoops when I use it.

I don’t actually use flash very much.  But there are a few sites where I need it.  I have the flashblock extension installed, so flash does not activate until I tell it to, so the risk of an out-of-date flash is small.  But firefox still makes me jump through extra hoops.  For that matter, I really don’t like firefox “phoning home” to decide that flash is vulnerable.  But that’s the way it is.

So I decided to switch to the flash from the adobe repo.

Adding the repo

To add the repo, I used Yast Software Repositories.  There, I clicked “Add”.  Then I selected “Community repos”, and clicked “Next”.  And then I selected the Adobe repo.  I then proceeded (either “OK” or “Finish” — I don’t remember which).

That gave me the adobe repo.  I next used Yast Software Management to check that flash was there.

Adding the adobe key

The adobe repo is not signed, but the rpm (package files) are signed.  For that, I needed to add a key.

At the command line (as an ordinary user), I retrieved the adobe key with:

% gpg --recv-keys f6777c67

That added the adobe key to my personal keyring.  I don’t actually need it there.  Rather, I need it to be in the rpm key database.  So, from my keyring, I exported it to a file:

% gpg --armor --output adobe.asc --export f6777c67

I now had the key in the file “adobe.asc”.

To add the key to the rpm key database, I opened a root terminal, and used “cd” to the directory containing that file “adobe.asc”  I then used the command:

# rpmkeys --import adobe.asc

which successfully added the key.

And a note on how I found that keyid — I tried installing the package from the adobe repo, and looked at the error message which told me which key was missing.

Deleting flash from packman

The next step was to use Yast Software Management to delete the flash player package that I had installed from the packman repo.  There are actually two packages to remove.  One of those is the flash player, and the other is the related gnome applet.  A search for “flash” finds both.  Right click on the entry and select delete.

And a quick note:  on my first try, I installed the adobe package first and deleted the packman package later.  That left me without flash, though I could fix that with a forced reinstall.  So it is better to remove the packman flash first.  Apparently there is a file conflict between the packages, but zypper does not recognize that conflict.

Installing the adobe package

For this, I again used Yast Software Management.  I searched for “flash” and installed “flash-plugin”.  Note that the adobe package name is different from the packman package name.

A final note

A quick test showed that firefox was seeing the newer flash and was no longer giving me warnings.

I still prefer the packman package, which is better suited to use with opensuse.  I will switch back to that when I see that it is up-to-date.  I will leave the adobe repo there, in case I have to switch again.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

2 responses to “Using flash from adobe repo”

  1. Neil Rickert says :

    Checking today, I see that the packman repo has finally updated to the latest flash. So I have now uninstalled the package from the adobe repo, and installed the packman packages once again.

    Like

  2. Richard MQ says :

    Thanks Neil – just had this same problem and guessed it as something like this, but I wasn’t sure how to solve it. Nice and concise!

    Like

Leave a Reply

