Tumbleweed install for February 2016

On Saturday, I noticed that snapshot 20160205 had been released.  So I downloaded that for this month’s install.

Installing

The install itself went quite smoothly.  I installed the KDE (i.e. Plasma 5) desktop.  Additionally, I installed networkmanager-gnome, so that I could test that with KDE.

My install was into the same external drive that I have previously used.  It was connected to my laptop.  My install was into an encrypted LVM.  I imported the mount points during the partitioning section of the install.

Problems

I noticed two problems.  The first was a repeat of the problem that I had n noted for my January install.  Namely, the entry added to “/etc/crypttab” was bad.  I had to go into rescue mode to repair that.  But this was expected.  That bug report is still open.  So the problem was not a surprise and I knew how to deal with it.  On this occasion, I used the UUID of the LUKS partition in “/etc/crypttab”.

The second problem was noticed because of the first.  Not being able to immediately boot into the newly installed system, I first booted to Windows for various reasons.  And, in Windows, I noticed that the system clock was off by 5 hours.  I’ve seen hints of this in previous installs.  But I want to do more investigation before reporting a bug.  When I eventually booted into the installed system, it did get the time right, probably because it was setup to use “ntp” to set the time.  So this is only a problem with setting the hardware clock during the install.

NetworkManager

As mentioned above, I also installed networkmanage-gnome, for some testing.  Alas, the test was not successful.

As previously reported, there are problems with NetworkManager and KDE on Tumbleweed.  So the plan was to try using the gnome “nm-applet” to configure the network.

On first successful boot into the newly installed system, I made sure that the ethernet cable was not connected.  After login to KDE, I went to System Tray Settings, and unchecked the box for the network applet.  Next, I went to System-Settings –> Startup and Shutdown, where I configure “nm-applet” as a program to be started during login.

I then logged out, and logged back in.  And I looked for the network icon in the tray.  It was there, but it was just a tiny dot.  I was unable to access network settings using that icon.  I have had similar problems with the tray icon for “liferea”.  It seems that Plasma5 does not like Gnome tray applications.

I logged out, then logged into Icewm.  There, I ran “nm-applet” and I started the KDE polkit applet.  With those running, I could easily configure my home WiFi network connection within Icewm.

I logged out from Icewm, and back into KDE.  The network icon was now clearly visible in the tray.  But it was still unusable.  I could not click on the icon to get anything to happen.  I was connected via WiFi, as checked from the command line.  But nm-applet was unusable.

On reboot and login to KDE, the tray had just that tiny dot for an icon.  But I was connected.  After logout and login, the full icon showed but was again inaccessible.  It looks as if the icon only shows up properly if I am connected when the KDE session starts.  And it looks as if it is never useful.

So I guess it is back to using the KDE network applet, in spite of its problems.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

