Opensuse 13.1 has gone evergreen

According to an announcement on Feb 03, opensuse 13.1 has reached the end of its normal support cycle.  The evergreen support team will now take over.

For those still running 13.1, there isn’t any urgent action required.  The same repos will be used by the evergreen team, so no repo changes are needed.

What does it mean?

As I understand it, this means that there will be no more bug fixes, with the exception of security problems that the evergreen team consider serious enough to warrant action.

That might not be quite right.  I do have 13.1 installed on one of my systems.  I’ll leave it there until I need the disk space for something else.

According to the announcement, the “systemd” update was the final update.  However, I have not yet received that update.  So maybe there’s a brief delay getting that out.  When I receive that, I will know that it is the last regular update.

My experience with 13.1 has been that it was a pretty solid system.  It should continue to be so, as long as the evergreen team continue with security updates.  But it will eventually seem out-of-date compared to newer releases.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

One response to “Opensuse 13.1 has gone evergreen”

  1. Neil Rickert says :

    I’ll note that the promised systemd update has now appeared, and I have installed it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

