Tumbleweed install for November

For this month, I installed Tumbleweed on my laptop.  I had installed Leap 42.1 to overwrite my previous Tumbleweed install on that laptop.

This computer uses legacy booting.  I gave Tumbleweed a 40G partition, which I formatted as “ext4”.  I also allowed it to use the swap and home file systems from my encrypted LVM on that computer.

I mounted the home file system to “/xhome”.  That left “/home” as part of the root file system.  So I created symbolic links into “/xhome” for most of my saved files.  Doing it this way allows me to avoid conflicting desktop configurations.  So the new install has its own “.config” and “.kde4”, but uses the same “$HOME/bin” and document directories as my other installs on that box.

Network

A recent forum post complained that installing Tumbleweed from the DVD installer required a network connection during install.  That has not been my experience.  So I decided to test that for this install.

After accepting the opensuse license, I was presented with a network configuration screen.  However, I just clicked on “Next” without configuring WiFi.  And I did not have an ethernet cable connected during this install.  The installer happily accepted my “Next” and did not complain about there being no network.  It did later ask if I wanted to connect to online repos during the install.  I expect that would have failed, since I had not configured a network connection.  So I did not try that.

Booting

I told the installer to boot from the root partition (“/dev/sda8”).  I unchecked the box to boot from the external partition.  And I unchecked the box to set the boot partition as active, and the box to install generic boot code in the MBR.

There was a notice that the system might be unbootable unless the MBR already has boot code.  I expected that.  My plan was to boot using the grub2 for opensuse 13.2, which is also on that laptop.

Partitioning

In the partitioning section of the install, I ignored the proposed partitioning, and clicked “Create partitioning”.  I then selected “Custom partitioner”.  That showed my the partitions already on the disk, and it had preselect the swap from the encrypted LVM to be used as swap.  I selected “/dev/sda8” as the root partition.  I had created that partition with Yast partitioner while running opensuse 13.2.  I usually prefer to create my partitions before I begin the install.

While in the custom partioner, I also selected the home file system from the encrypted LVM to be mounted at “/xhome”.

Installation

I went with the default for almost everything else.  I took the default KDE as desktop.  I did tell it to run an ssh server, and to open the firewall for ssh.

I then proceeded with the install.  The total time for install, from booting the install media to the reboot, was 30 minutes.  Everything went quite smoothly.

Summary

This was a straightforward and successful install.  No complication cropped up.  Tumbleweed (64-bit, snapshot 20151118) seems to be in pretty good shape for installing at present.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

