The Tumbleweed 20151002 update

I still have a lot to test following that Tumbleweed update.  I did encounter some issues.  I’ll comment on those here.

Crash during update

On one system, the update completed.  But I could not logout from the desktop.  So I used CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE to crash the desktop, then rebooted on the sddm login screen.

On another system, where I was using “gdm” as login manager, the desktop seemed to crash in the middle of the update, leaving a blank screen.  I logged in remotely (using “ssh”) to see what was happening.  The desktop session appeared to have disappeared (I checked processes that I owned, and none were running except those from the ssh login).

Fortunately, I had used “screen -L” for the terminal session from which I ran “zypper dup”.  Looking at the “screenlog.0” file, I could see that the update was still in progress.  I waited for it to finish, then rebooted at the command line.

Rebooting was fine.  I had switched to using “sddm” (by editing “/etc/sysconfig/displaymanager”) just before the update.  So I got “sddm” for the login screen after reboot.

Grub

There seem to be issues with the latest grub update.

For the first system I updated, everything went as expected.  On that system, I had defined the grub distributor as “betasuse”.  I should mention that this is an EFI box.  The updated grub2-efi files went into the directory “\EFI\betasuse” on the system EFI partition as expected.

The second system was weird.  I had not defined the grub distributor.  Checking “/etc/default/grub”, I see that the field is empty.  According to the documentation, a default distributor is supposed to be found via “/etc/os-release”.

What actually happened, is that the file “grubx64.efi” was installed as expected in “\EFI\opensuse” in the EFI partition.  That’s the file used for ordinary boot (not for secure-boot).  However the files for secure-boot (such as “shim.efi”) were installed in “\EFI\grub” in the EFI partition.  This is probably a bug in “shim-install”.

Bootctl

I sometimes use the command “bootctl status” to give me details of how I booted.  This now seems broken.  All that it does is complain that “/boot” is not the EFI partition.  Apparently “bootctl” comes from the “systemd” developers.  I guess this is an example of their annoying “my way or the highway” attitude.

And now

I guess I’m off to see what bugs have been reported, and to add my own report where needed.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

One response to “The Tumbleweed 20151002 update”

  1. Neil Rickert says :

    I’ve posted a bug report on the shim-install problem as bug 948866. And I’ve posted a report on the “bootctl” problem as bug 948868.

    Like

Leave a Reply

