Opensuse Leap 42.1 Beta1

The beta1 release was announced on Thursday.  So I downloaded and installed.

Downloading

The downloading went smoothly.  I used “aria2c” to download “openSUSE-Leap-42.1-DVD-x86_64-Build0186-Media.iso” (the DVD installer iso for beta1).  Then I used “wget” to download the sha256 checksum file “openSUSE-Leap-42.1-DVD-x86_64-Build0186-Media.iso.sha256”.  Then I used “gpg” to verify the signature of that checksum file.  Finally, I used the “sha256sum” command to computer the checksum of the downloaded iso, and compare that to the checksum in the “.sha256” file.

A bit more detail.  On the download page for the development version, I checked the box for “Pick Mirror” and clicked “download”.  That gave me a list of mirrors and it gave me the url for the meta4 download link.  I copied that link, and used it as an argument for “aria2c” on a command line to download the iso.  Then I replaced the final “.meta4” with “.sha256” in that link, and used that with “wget” to download the sha256 checksum file.

I then used “dd_rescue” to write the “.iso” file to an 8G USB flash drive, to use as my install media.

Installation

To install, I inserted the USB drive, and booted the computer.  I then hit F12 during boot.  On the computer that I was using, that brings up a BIOS boot menu.  I selected the entry to boot the flash drive in UEFI mode.

I proceeded with the install.  It mostly went as expected.

On the reboot after install, I ran into my first problem.  Actually, that was the only problem.  I was expecting this, since it had happened for the milestones.  Bug 939411 showed up.  My install had used an encrypted LVM.  I was prompted for the encryption key, but the computer would not accept keyboard input.

The workaround is easy enough, so I soon had the system up and running.

With that experience, I upped the severity of bug 939411 to critical, and added a comment that this would block people with USB3 hardware and an encrypted LVM.

There’s good news.  In less that 24 hours, the bug report was updated to say that a fix had been submitted.  So, hopefully, when the release candidate shows up in a few weeks, we should be good to go.

First looks

With the system up and running, I spent a little time test it.

My first surprise was how fast it booted.  This is a considerably faster startup than I have been seeing with opensuse 13.2 or with Tumbleweed.  This is a good start.  Shutdown also seems pretty fast.

Once booted, I noticed the artwork.  It is very impressive.  With opensuse 13.1, I did not use any wallpaper other than the default, because the artwork was excellent.  With 13.2, I reverted to configuring wallpaper, and the default was uninteresting.  With 42.1, it looks as if I will be going back to skipping the wallpaper and using the default.

Summary

Still the odd bug, but 42.1 is shaping up nicely.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

