Setting up an NFS server in openSUSE

Last week I posted about sharing updates via NFS.  In this post, I’ll describe how to setup an NFS server with opensuse.  I’ll later add a post about setting up an NFS client.  Both are relatively simple.

Requirements

To setup the NFS server, I needed to install “nfs-kernel-server” and “yast2-nfs-server”.  Both are on the install DVD and both are in the standard repos.  When I first did this, I install “nfs-kernel-server” during my original install of the system.  Then when I tried to configure, I noticed that “yast2-nfs-server” was missing, so I installed that.

There are additional packages for nfs clients.  However, in my experience, those are part of a standard install.

Configuring

I started Yast –> Network Services –> NFS Server.  The actual configuration was relatively simple.

On the first screen, I selected “Open Port in Firewall”.  I also made sure that “Start” was selected.  I noticed that “Enable NFSv4” was preselected.  I put my home domain name in the field for NFSv4 domain name.  Note that I did not check the box for GSS security.

Then I clicked “Next”.

I entered the name of the shared directory “/shared” as a directory to export.  I probably had to first click “Add Directory” before I could add it.

Next I adjusted the permissions.  I set the host wildcard to “*”, meaning that anyone can access this.  I am relying on the firewall of my router to limit access.  I made sure that the permissions said “rw” to allow read-write access.  Apart from that, I took the defaults.

I later changed to include “no_root_squash”, when I wanted to share update RPMs.  Without that, access by the root user would be as “nobody” on machines that mount via NFS, but would be as “root” for access on the local machine.

I then clicke “Finish”.  And, before long, I was running an NFS server from my desktop.

 

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

