Opensuse Leap 42.1 Milestone 2

Milestone 2 for Leap 42.1 was announced on Friday.  So, naturally, I downloaded the install DVD iso, and attempted an install.

Both the download and the install went quite well.  As usual, I wrote the iso to a USB flash drive, and used that for installing.  I installed Leap on its own (unencrypted) partition, but with swap and home coming from an existing encrypted LVM.  I mounted the home volume from the LVM as “/xhome”, so that “/home” is actually part of the root partition.  The idea was that users could symlink back to files in “/xhome” to make their usual files/directories available.  But desktop configuration would be kept separate to avoid conflicts between different desktop versions.

Booting woes

Trouble began with the first boot.  I was prompted for the encryption key, but the system was not reading the keyboard and this prevented entering the key.

This is actually bug 939411.  I had run into it before with Milestone 1.  I had hoped that it would be corrected for Milestone 2, but that did not happen.

In any case, the fix is simple.  One line needs to be changed in a script that “dracut” uses for building the “initrd”.  So I went into rescue mode, modified the script and rebuilt the “initrd”.

On the next boot attempt, I was able to provide the encryption key.  But alas, the system still did not boot correctly.  It went into emergency mode, requesting the root password.  In emergency mode, I could see that “/xhome” had not been mounted, and the device special file for it, in “/dev/mapper”, was missing.

I ran the command

vgchange -a y

to make the logical volumes visible.  Systemd noticed this, and immediately mounted “/xhome”.  I then used

systemctl default

to resume normal startup.  That left me with a running system.

It looks as if those emergency mode steps need to be repeated for every boot.  Evidently, something is amiss in LVM handling.

I reported this problem as bug 944577.

The running system

I have mainly been testing Plasma 5.  Thus far, most of what I have tested seems to be working.  But I still have more testing to do.

I did notice that “ecryptfs” is not yet available.  That leaves me concerned that it might not be in the final release of 42.1.  By now, I have become used to having an ecryptfs private directory for keeping sensitive files.  I’m not sure that I am willing to go without that.

Tags: ,

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

3 responses to “Opensuse Leap 42.1 Milestone 2”

  1. DutchGlory says :

    OpenSUSE a good choice..??

    with 13.2 YES!!, THE BEST VERSION EVER MADE. But now with Leap 42 as replacement and Tumbleweed as second option, not any more…

    Tumbleweed is to heavy and unstable for daily use and Leap 42 to limited in terms of packages, compatibility with third party Linux packages. and also other daily work….

    Leap 42 is based and forked from “SUSE Linux Enterprise” witch is is a classic “ball and chain” (at your feet and try to run) on its own.. This WILL move users away from OpenSUSE and go for other linux version…

    André

    ..

    Like

    • Neil Rickert says :

      I’m delaying judgment on that. I’ll wait and see what happens.

      I am bothered by there being fewer packages. At present, “ecryptfs-utils” is the main concern.

      I might switch to Tumbleweed, with Leap on a different partition as a fallback.

      Like

  2. Neil Rickert says :

    An update on that “emergency mode” problem.

    I edited “/etc/lvm/lvm.conf” and changed one line to

     use_lvmetad = 0
    

    The previous value was “1”, so I just changed the “1” to “0”.

    After that change, it now boots normally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

