Plasma 5.3 has landed in Tumbleweed

Here’s the announcement:

I’ll have more to say when I have finished downloading, and have done an install of Tumbleweed with Plasma 5.

For the moment, I am still downloading the install DVD image.  I started downloading around 2 hours ago.  It says 14 hours remaining.

I probably started downloading too soon after seeing the announcements.  The mirrors had not yet been setup.  I’m using “aria2c” for a meta download.  The “.meta4” file lists only one mirror.  If I had waited a little longer, I probably would have picked up more mirrors and a faster download.

But I’m not in a hurry.  I probably won’t find time to try an install until tomorrow.

[Note: the download took a little over 3 hours.  It speeded up considerably toward the end]

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

