An update on the logitech M325 mouse

It is almost two years since I reviewed the M325.  Since then I have bought a second one, so I guess I must like it.

My first M325 was for my laptop.  I’m using the second one on my main desktop.

A negative

I’ll start with what I don’t like.  The scroll wheel is too sensitive.  It takes too little force to move.  So if my finger bumps against the scroll wheel, I’ll accidentally scroll the current window.  I more-or-less have that under control, but I still occasionally scroll when I don’t intend to.

A bluetooth mouse that I bought a few years ago was even worse for this.  So I guess people like that easy scroll behavior.  However, I’m used to also using the scroll wheel for middle-click.  So I had to learn to avoid accidentally scrolling while middle clicking.

Wireless signal

The wireless signal strength seems to be weak.  Overall this is probably a good thing, for it means that outsiders will have trouble picking it up.

I quickly noticed that it is weak when I started using the second mouse on my desktop.  I plugged the wireless receiver into a USB connector at the back of the computer.  And I found that the mouse was unreliable.  It wasn’t always tracking properly.  So I instead plugged it into a front USB connector.  And there, it is working very well.  Evidently the metal in computer tower is enough of a shield to interfere with communications when I plug in at the back.

I’ll note that this might be a problem if you need the front connectors for other purposes.  I have two front connectors, and have rarely used more than one at a time for USB disks.  And, fortunately, the back connectors are accessible the way that my desk is located.  The front connectors are USB2, and 4 of the 6 rear connectors are USB3.  I was already using the two rear USB2 connectors (for keyboard and UPC).  So moving the mouse receiver to the front actually freed up a USB3 connector.

What I like

What I particularly like is the relatively small size of the M325.  It comfortably fits in the hand with less stretching than the wired mouse that I had previously used.  It seems to work well on most surfaces, so no need for a dedicated mouse pad.  With my laptop, I can use the mouse on the laptop surface if the computer is on my lap.

Battery life

The M325 uses a single AA cell.  I am still using the original battery from almost two years ago, so battery life is good.  To be fair, I am a light user of that laptop.  Most of my computing is done on my desktop.  So the laptop M325 was not worked very hard.  So perhaps this is showing a long life under idle conditions.  The mouse is normally switched on, so using a tiny amount of power even when the computer is not in use.  The two year life (thus far) suggests that this idle usage is low.

I use my desktop quite heavily.  And I did just replace the battery after around 6 months of heavy use.  So that’s a better indication of battery life under constant use.

I had not previously noticed this with my laptop.  But when I hold the mouse over the KDE battery monitor icon, it actually tells me the state of the mouse battery.  At present, it is saying 70% for my desktop, and 90% for my laptop.  The battery indicator is apparently not very accurate.  It seems to be fixed at 70% on the desktop, and at 90% on the laptop.

Two weeks ago, when routinely checking the battery indicator on my desktop, it showed 5%.  The mouse was still working well with that 5%.  But that’s when I replaced it, and the indicator then jumped back to 70% for the new battery.

So the indicator percentage is probably inaccurate.  Look for a sharp drop as an indication that the battery is approaching its end-of-life.

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

