Blogging notes

A couple of notes relative to reading and posting blogs.

Double posting – they fixed it

For several months, I have been plagued with double-posting issues.  No, posts have not appeared twice.  But, when I follow posts via my RSS reader (akregator), many posts have shown up there twice.  This has mainly been a problem with wordpress.com hosted blogs.  This has been going on for several months.

When I investigated, I could see what seemed to be happening.  I’ll illustrate with an example:

Here are the two akregator entries for the post:

A militant atheist Why Evolution... whyevolution... 07/13/14 02:53
PM
A militant atheist Why Evolution... whyevolution... 07/13/14 02:53
PM

Both lines look identical.  However, when I look at the URL for those posts, they are different.  Here are the two urls:

http://whyevolutionistrue.wordpress.com/2014/07/13/a-militant-atheist/
https://whyevolutionistrue.wordpress.com/2014/07/13/a-militant-atheist/

As you can see, one is a straight “http” link, while the other is to the secure (encrypted) version of the page.

I also checked this with “liferea” (my alternative RSS reader), and it was seeing the same duplication of posts.

It seems likely that this was a wordpress bug, sometimes giving out urls in “https” form and sometimes in “http” form.

The good news, is that they appear to have fixed it.  That example that I listed is from a week ago.  And I have not seen any duplication since then.

Server Maintenance

That (“Server Maintenance”) was the message that I saw today, when I posted to my other blog.  The accompanying text said:

Your server is going through a few minutes of routine maintenance. Please don’t touch your browser for a few minutes.

What do I do?

If you were posting a comment or making a post on your blog then do not press BACK on your browser. Wait 5 minutes and press the refresh icon on your browser. Your comment or post will be sent as normal.

If you are browsing a blog here just wait a few moments and hit refresh. The page you were expecting will appear.

So I waited it out.  While waiting, I visited my blog with a different browser.  I could see that the new post was already there.  So there was a slight worry that if I followed instructions, it would post a second time.  To check, I went to my main browser and refreshed the page.  Firefox told me that this would resend data.  I allowed it to continue.

And everything was fine.  There was no duplicate post.

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

