Nvidia, factory and opensuse 13.2

Yesterday, I decided to recheck the nvidia site for drivers.  And it turns out that they have a new bunch of drivers there.  For my card, they now have 304.123.  On my last check, around two weeks ago, the latest that they had was 304.121 which did not work with a factory install — factory is mostly a preparatory version leading toward a future 13.2.

I hastily installed a recent factory snapshot on my older Dell box (the one with the nvidia card).  I actually installed on an external drive,  because this was mostly for testing.

After install, I proceeded to install the nvidia driver the hard way.  I then rebooted to test.  And it is working very well.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

