Opensuse 13.2 snapshot 20140528

As mentioned in my previous post, I downloaded the May 28th snapshot and installed.  I have not yet done a lot of testing, so this will mainly be about the installing.

Finding the iso

The DVD image was not on the factory snapshot download page.  So I visited the OpenQA page.  That’s the page that lists the results of automated testing.

I looked for lines with “DVD” in the “type” column and “x86_64” in the “arch” column.  The most recent (at that time, May 28) showed a build “20140528”.  From there, I clicked on the magnifying glass icon, and found a download link.  I used that to download “openSUSE-FTT-DVD-x86_64-Snapshot20140528-Media.iso”.  I then wrote that to a USB to use for installing.  I used the “dd_rescue” command to write it to the USB.

There was no “md5” or similar checksum.  So I had to just hope that I had a good download.  My experience is that downloads are always good, so I was not too worried.  But I do hope that they start putting these up on the factory iso download page, where we can download with meta links and verify with checksums or pgp signatures.

Partitioing

I booted the USB.  This was on a UEFI box, so I booted in UEFI mode.  I did not use secure-boot, as I knew that would not work on this box.  The installer came up without problems.  It did have a very different appearance.  This seems to mainly be a change in theme.

In the partitioning section of install, there was no “import partitioning” selection.  So, I instead went with “create partitioning” and, on the next screen, “custom (expert mode)”.  That gave me a list of what is on the disk.  I selected the partitions and logical volumes that I wanted to use.  Right-click on a line allowed me to select “edit” to configure how I wanted to use that partition.  The installer wanted to use “/dev/sdb2” as an EFI partition, so my edit told it to ignore that partition.  Instead, I used “/dev/sda2”, and mounted that at “/boot/efi”.

After I had finished configuring the partitions to my liking, I told the installer to accept this.  There was a pop-up error message.  That was the first “oop!” that I encountered.  The message read:

Warning: With your current setup, your openSUSE installation will encounter problems when booting, because you have no FAT partition mounted on”/boot/efi”.

I told it to ignore the error, and continue.  I did have a suitable partition mounted on “/boot/efi”, so this message was simply a mistake.  It is reported as Bug 869716.

SSH

The rest of the install was uneventful.  I did click the option to start “sshd” and open the firewall for “ssh” connection.  I later discovered that “sshd” was not being started, although the firewall had been opened for “ssh” connections.  This was easy enough to fix.  I have not reported this failure as a bug, because I would like to first hear whether others are having the problem.

Booting woes

Next came the first reboot.  The system booted into emergency mode.  I saw the same problem on several subsequent boots.

This problem turns out to be due to LVM handling.  After giving the root password for emergency mode, I could tell that the root file system was mounted, and the swap was activated.  But “/home” was not mounted.  Root, home and swap are all part of the same encrypted LVM.  Looking at “/dev/mapper”, I could see that the home file system was not accessible.

The single command

# vgchange -a y

was all that was needed.  That made the home file system accessible.  The running “systemd” noticed that, ran “fsck” on the file system and mounted it.  I could simply exit emergency mode and the system completed bootup.

This problem was already being discussed as Bug 878473.  I reported my  experience on that bug report.  And then I tried the suggested work around of changing a line in “/etc/lvm/lvm.conf” (comment 5 of the bug report).  That solved the problem for me.

Other problems

Yast Software management (the QT version) crashes.  The GTK version and the curses version both work.  This had previously happened with Milestone 0 (in March), so I followed the same workaround.  I deleted “libproxy1-config-kde4”.  I used the curses version of Yast to delete that.  After that, I could start Software Management in QT mode.  The first step was to blacklist “libproxy1-config-kde4” so that it would not be reinstalled.

I could not reboot or shutdown from within Icewm.  The attempt to reboot is ignored.  I could logout, and then reboot from the KDM screen.

The “sshd” service was not running, although I had configured that during install.  I fixed that in Yast Services Manager..

Repos

The configured repositories appeared to be from the factory snapshot taken in March for milestone 0.  I have since added the factory oss and factory non-oss repos, and disabled all of the originally configured repos.  I then ran “zypper dup” to bring the system up to the current factory level.

Other notes

The kernel is at version 3.15.0-rc6-1-desktop.  Gnome is at release 3.12.2, and KDE is at release 4.13.1.  I have not yet done much testing of this software.

My plans

Now that I am using factory repos, I’ll periodically update with “zypper dup”, and test applications with this installed factory “release”.  I plan to occasionally download future snapshots, and install them.  This will primarily be to test for install problems.

Tags: , ,

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

One response to “Opensuse 13.2 snapshot 20140528”

  1. purepackets says :

    I was thinking about checking it out. I had no idea it had so many major bugs, Guess I’ll wait for the stable release.

    Like

Leave a Reply

