Browser 2014 reviews — midori

I’ll start with a quick summary.  “Midori” is a congenial browser, with some defects.  But it is not a browser that I would normally use.  It messes up copy/paste, and that’s enough of a problem for me to rule it out.

Overview

“Midori” is apparently a recommended browser for the XFCE desktop, though opensuse provides “firefox” with its XFCE.  “Midori” is light weight, and is very fast in rendering pages.  It is a pleasant browser to use, as long as you do not run into its shortcomings.

Tabbed browsing

The tabbed browsing works well for me.  I unchecked the option “open tabs in background” with the effect that it switches the new tab.  The main negative for tabbed browsing, is that when I close a tab it does not revert to the previous tab.  That takes a mouse click to fix.  I guess I’m spoiled by the tabbed browsing in “firefox” and “rekonq”.  Using “midori” in association with “akregator”, whenever “akregator” opens a page in the external browser, it does that in a new tab in “midori”.

Incidentally, I also experimented with setting “midori private browing” as my default browser.  In that case, “akregator” started a new private browsing window for each page.  It did not open a new tab in the existing private browsing window.

Bookmarks

There’s no support that I could find, for use of a bookmarks menu.  However, there is an option to turn on a bookmarks sidebar.  That works well, but it is not what I want.  The sidebar takes up too much screen space for my liking.

I was able to import firefox bookmarks.  In firefox, I saved the bookmarks to an html file in my firefox profile directory.  Then I used the “import bookmarks” function of “midori” to import them.  This sorts the bookmarks, which I don’t like.

What I did, instead, was open that firefox bookmarks file as a web page.  Then I made that my default home page.  So, whenever I started “midori”, I had my bookmarks in the leftmost tab.  That turned out to be my preferred way of accessing bookmarks.

Private browsing

There’s an option to open a private browsing window.  However, there does not seem to be an option to open a link in a private browsing window.  And when I do open a private browsing window, I have no access to bookmarks.  So that limits the usefulness of private browsing.

Passwords

I tested a couple of sites where I need to login.  The browser did not offer to save my password.

Oddities

When I first tried using “midori”, it would not play flash videos.  It indicated that a plugin was missing.  The next time that I started “midori”, it was happy to play flash.  Then, after another restart, it again would not play flash.

It turns out that there’s a setting.  In the preferences menu, there’s a tab for “extensions”.  That provides a list.  Once I checked the box for flash, the flash videos started to work consistently.

Problems

The main problem, apart from the copy/paste issue, was that “midori” crashed on some pages.  For example, it seemed to crash on “HuffingtonPost” pages, or at least on the few that I tried.

Although the rendering is fast, the quality was not always good.  I tried playing the sudoku puzzle at “sudoku.com.au”.  While playing, the borders between some of the cells would disappear.  This was quite distracting, though it did not interfere with the play.

Copy-paste issues

While logged into opensuse forums, I attempted to paste an item into the edit window of a reply.  Following my usual practice, I selected the text (from a Konsole window).  I then used middle-click to pasted into the browser edit window.  It did not paste.  Instead, only a singly space pasted.  And, looking in Klipper, the text that I had selected no longer showed as in the clipboard.

On a subsequent reply, I tried again with multi-line text.  Again, it did not paste.  So I selected the text in Klipper, then used CTRL-V in an attempt to paste into the edit window of the browser.  That worked, but what was pasted was badly mangled.

I think I found out how to get it working properly.  But this is too much effort.  It needs to be consistent with what works for other applications.

Configuration

To configure almost anything, click the menu near the top right (the icon is a pencil on a sheet of paper).  A number of options are directly found there.  That menu also includes a “preferences” option, which provides more choices.  If you right click just below the navigation bar (where the current url is listed), there’s an option to have a menu bar.  If you check that box, the way to access options changes a little, but is still obvious enough.

Summary

If you never copy-paste into a browser edit window, then you might like the speed an light weight of “midori”.  But if you do much copy-paste, you will probably find it frustrating.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Browser reviews — 2014 | Thoughts on computing - 2014/01/31

Leave a Reply

