Notes on 13.1M4

It is almost 2 weeks since I installed Milestone 4, so I have had a little time to play with it. Mostly, things seem to work pretty well. Since good news is not very interesting, I’ll concentrate here on a few problem points.

Core dumps

In each of my 13.1M4 systems, I found a file “/core”.

# file core
core: ELF 64-bit LSB core file x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), SVR4-style, from 'scr stdio scr'

I am unsure what causes this.  However, the time stamp on the file indicates that it happened during install.  I’m not sure whether it happened toward the end of the main installing, or early after the reboot to complete the install.  Here are a few file timestamps to help locate when it happened:

# ls -l core boot/boot etc/sysconfig/storage etc/sysconfig/sound
lrwxrwxrwx 1 croot root        1 Aug 12 08:04 boot/boot -> .
-rw------- 1 croot root 18137088 Aug 12 08:07 core
-rw-r--r-- 1 croot root     1423 Aug 12 08:20 etc/sysconfig/sound
-rw-r--r-- 1 croot root      924 Aug 12 08:07 etc/sysconfig/storage

I do not use “autoconfig” so the sound configuration is done after the reboot, and near the end of the manual configuration.  I assume that the “boot/boot” symlink is created before the reboot as part of installing grub.

KDE 32-bit bug

In my earlier post, I had noted a problem with plasma crashing on my 32 bit system.  A forum suggestion was that this was due to settings left over from milestone 3.  So I deleted my KDE configuration, and then restored the configuration I have used with opensuse 12.3.  Plasma still crashed.  So I again deleted the KDE configuration, then logged into KDE to allow a completely new configuration to be generated.  That worked.  There have not been any plasma crashes since then.

I still see that as a bug.  If there were no bug, then plasma should not have been segfaulting.  If there is something it does not like about the inherited configuration, it could either overrule that or display a useful message.  Still, at least there is a workaround.

Enlightenment (E17)

When installing M4, I noticed that E17 was an install choice.  So, on one of my systems, I have gone back and installed E17 to give it a try.

After that install, there was an Enlightenment option in the KDM login menu.  So I tried logging into E17.

Thus far I am underwhelmed.

The first screen after login gave me a choice for the keyboard character set.  I went with the default of US English.  The next screen gave me a choice between “Opensuse desktop”, “Enlightenment standard Desktop” and one other which I don’t recall.  I selected “Opensuse Desktop”.  That took me back to the keyboard character set screen.  I repeated this a second time.  On the third try, I instead went with the default standard desktop.  That allowed setup to continue.  There were a couple of other screens for making selections.  On one of them, I said to disable compositing.

I was then taken the desktop.  It had several icons, such as one for starting firefox.  I did not see anything for starting a terminal session.  So I clicked (left click) on the desktop, and there was a menu.  I selected “Applications”, and a message popped up saying that enlightenment had taken a segfault.

So much for enlightenment.  I’ll stay with KDE.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

4 responses to “Notes on 13.1M4”

  1. schumski says :

    “KDE 32-bit bug” is still happening, but not for all users – as we removed the launchers from default openSUSE branding. It’s not a configuration leftover 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

