Browser notes

As mentioned during my browser reviews last year, I have been using firefox as my main browser, but rekonq or konqueror as the browser I use in association with akregator (mostly for reading blogs).

Mostly, I have used rekonq over the last few months.  However, recently rekonq has been crashing more often than I like.  I tried switching to konqueror.  At first, that seemed better.  But it, too, is crashing too often.  So I am back using rekonq.

The excessive crashing started while I was still using KDE 4.10.3, and since the online update to KDE 4.10.5 the crashing rate is similar.  Perhaps the excessive crashing started with the latest “flash” update.  It does seem to be associated with flash, in that the crash is very likely to occur during or shortly after watching a flash video.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

