Ouch, that hurt

[see explanation at end of post]

I started a post about Milestone 3.  And, somewhere along the way, Workpress managed to lose everything that I had composed.  I was adding a link, and the screen changed to the “Add a new post” screen.  There was no draft saved, which is unusual.

I will have to redo everything.  In the meantime, this is a test post to see if posting is working at all.

My first attempt to preview this failed.  I then clicked “save draft”.  After that, I could preview.  I’ll post now, while the going is good.  Perhaps posting no longer works unless “save draft” is used along the way.

Explanation

This explanation added after a subsequent post.

When I started another post, things still were not working properly.  So I guessed that this might be a javascript problem.  I am using firefox with noscript.  I do allow scripting from some sites, including ones associated with wordpress.

I checked the noscript options for the page.  It listed several sites that I had not allowed.  I gave temporary permission to gstatic.com and kissmetrics.com.  And that seems to have solved the problem I was having with wordpress.  I’m not sure whether I needed both of those, or only the one.

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Testing opensuse 13.1 Milestone 3 | Thoughts on computing - 2013/07/15

Leave a Reply

