Opensuse 12.3 release notes

A new version of the release notes was made available today.  I think that’s called “locking the barn door after the horse has escaped.”

The changes aren’t major.  Or, at least, they don’t seem major to me because they are all items that I knew about from my testing of beta release.

Here are a couple of things to watch:

  • if the network does not start immediately after install, then reboot will probably fix that;
  • if you are installing into an encrypted LVM on a UEFI, then you will still need a separate “/boot” partition.  The installer fails to recommend that.  I’m not sure, but I think you can manage without a separate “/boot” as long as you choose “elilo” as your booter.  If you choose grub2-efi, then your system will need a separate “/boot”;
  • if you install from the live KDE or live Gnome image, and your install is to a UEFI system, then the default booter selection is wrong.  The default of grub2 will not boot in a UEFI mode.  So choose either “grub2-efi” or “elilo”.  I used “grub2-efi” for installing.  However, I installed with the DVD image, which does get the booting right.

Take a peek at the release notes (link near the top of this post), to see whether there is any other issue that might be of concern to you.

 

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

2 responses to “Opensuse 12.3 release notes”

  1. youngpenguin says :

    Ey Rick, I installed 12.3 Gnome on my father’s computer and he likes it, even if actually he does not know the difference between Gnome and Kde… PRO: has a good implementation of Gnome; CONS: Nvidia proprietary driver doesn’t work with Gnome and I DO NOT LIKE THE ARTWORK!!

    Like

    • Neil Rickert says :

      Graphic driver problems have plagued linux for as long as I can remember. I have one box with a nvidia card, and fortunately the nouveau driver does tolerably well with it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

