Browser review – seamonkey

Today was my seamonkey day.  I have been using seamonkey for browsing today, to get a feel for it.  However, seamonkey is very much like firefox, so it seems like an old friend.

Firefox compatibility

With firefox and seamonkey both shutdown, I copied the files “cookies.sqlite”, “key3.db” and “signons.sqlite” from my firefox profile directory to the corresponding seamonkey profile directory.  I then started seamonkey.  It recognized the cookies.  I found that I was already logged into some sites where I stay logged in with firefox.  And, on a site that does not allow me to stay logged in, I found that the password manager knew my password for that site.

Or, to say it differently, the cookies file and the passwords files seem to be completely compatible between the two browsers.  The format of the cookies file was recently changed in firefox, so the format in seamonkey presumably changed at about the same time.

Differences

The most immediately obvious difference with between firefox and seamonkey, is that seamonkey has the older menu bar, which I had turned off in firefox.  So, appearance wise, it looks like a somewhat older firefox.  However, as discussed above, it is using the same file formats as the current firefox.

The other noticeable difference, is with tabs.  The way tabs are handled in seamonkey is similar to the way that they were handled in early versions of firefox.  While using seamonkey, I miss some of the firefox enhancements to tabbed browsing.  In particular, there is no close button on a seamonkey tab, and middle-click on a seamonkey tab does not close the tab.  The basic way of closing the current tab is to click on the close-tab button (an X on the right of the screen).

Font corruption

I had the same font corruption problems with seamonkey, that I had previously seen with firefox.  And the same solution, as previously reported, solved the problem for me.

Overall summary

If I wanted a browser with a built-in mail client, then it would be very easy to switch from my current firefox to seamonkey.  Using seamonkey seems like being with an old friend.

As a final note, I’ll add that I am posting this message with seamonkey, as a final test.  And, as anticipated, it is almost the same as posting with firefox.

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

