Browser review – firefox

For completeness, I’ll review firefox to complete my series of browser reviews.  This will be relatively short, because I have been using firefox as my reference standard when evaluating the other browsers.

Firefox supports most of what one would look for in a browser.  It does tabbed browsing, it has a decent bookmarks menu, it does spell checking on entry fields, it has a built-in password manager.

In most respects, I am satisfied with firefox.  Some of the other browsers were a little faster in rendering pages.  While I have not timed it, I think konqueror is actually slower than firefox.

Some of the other browsers handle tabs slightly better than firefox, but the difference is not enough to matter.

The  main feature where I might prefer some other browsers, was with private browsing.  Chromium and midori open a separate window for private browsing, and opera opens a separate tab.  That allows browsing one site privately at the same time as I am browsing another site in ordinary (non-private) mode.  There is, of course, an associated risk of data leakage between the two sites, and perhaps that is why the firefox developers have chosen to not allow private and non-private browsing at the same time.

Sometime in the next few days, I’ll post on my practices with using firefox.

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Firefox updated to 20.0 | Thoughts on computing - 2013/04/06

Leave a Reply

