Browser review – chromium

I have been using chromium for most of my browsing today.  Just about everything has gone well.  There were no blips or surprises.  Page rendering is fast – perhaps the fastest of all of the browsers that I have been testing.

Bookmarks

Chromium does have a bookmarks menu, which works pretty well.  That’s about how I like to use bookmarks.  There’s also an option for a bookmarks bar, for those who prefer that approach.  Chromium kept the bookmarks in the original order, when importing them.  It did not try to sort them.  That, too, is how I like it.

Tabbed browsing

The tabs work more-or-less the way that I like, though I do have some reservations.  If I middle click on a link, to open it in a new tab, it does not automatically switch to that new tab.  I could not find a configuration setting to change that.  Several of the other browsers that I have tested behave in the same way.  My personal preference is for a browser to immediately switches to the new tab.

I’m not quite sure how chromium is deciding where to place the newly opened tab.  Most of the time, it is opening the new tab to the right end of the tab bar.  But, sometimes it is opening the new tab adjacent to the current tab.

Passwords

Chromium is offering to remember passwords.  It stores them in kdewallet, though that’s an install-time choice.  When I installed chromium from the repos, it defaulted to also installing the Gnome password interface.  I chose to switch that to the KDE interface.  This is working well.  However, it does not offer to save the password for my work webmail, probably because the web page encoding says that it should not be saved.  Similarly firefox and konqueror did not offer to save that password.  However, rekonq and epiphany did.  And konqueror was willing to read the password that had been saved by rekonq.

The passwords saved by Chromium are kept separate from those saved by rekonq/konqueror.

Private browsing

Chromium handles private browsing in a separate window (an “Incognito Window”).  This works well, and allows me to access one site via private browsing and another with regular browsing, both at the same time.

Spell checking

I’m glad to see that chromium does spell checking when I am typing.

Minor gripe

At some sites, when I click on a link there is a small dotted mark left around that link.  That dotted mark does not show up in chromium.  That’s unfortunate, as I find it very useful.

Overall summary

Chromium is congenial to use, and is fast at rendering pages.  I did not come across any serious problems with it.

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

