Logitech m325 wireless mouse – a brief review

[Update: the battery is an AA cell, not an AAA cell – fixed in the text]

The Logitech m325 was on sale at Office Max, so I decided to try it out.  I am using it on my laptop, and using it to compose this post.

Overview

This is a slim mouse.  While I manage quite well with a standard mouse on my desktop, I do find the slim devices to be quite congenial.  It comes with its own USB wireless receiver.  According to the package, the single AA cell battery has an 18 month life.  When I look at the small print inside the package, that turns out to be “up to 18 months.”  Only time will tell the real battery life.  Still, it promises to be better than my Targus blue-tooth mouse which is “up to 10 months” and requires two batteries which usually die after around 6 months.

There is an on-off switch.  It supposedly has a smart sleep mode, so that on-off switch might not be needed except in wireless restricted areas.  The cover of the battery compartment is easily removed, and there is a slot there where the USB wireless receiver can be stored if desired.

Connecting

When first connecting while running Windows 7, I checked whether Windows could see it as a blue-tooth device.  No luck there.  So I plugged in the usb wireless receiver, and it quickly began to work.  Windows device manager reports it as a USB device.

I then booted to openSUSE 12.3M2, which immediately recognized the mouse (still using the USB receiver).  Synaptiks reports it as “Logitech Unifying Device: Wireless PID:xxxx” (with a hex number for the “xxxx”).

Use and feel

I have generally liked logitech mice that I have used in the past.  This one has a generally good feel to it, except for “middle click.”  That’s not likely to be a problem for Windows users, since middle click is not used a lot.  But, for linux, I am a heavy user of middle-click.  I’m hoping that I get sufficiently used to this mouse, that I can middle-click without difficulty.

The problem, for middle click, is that the mouse wheel turns very freely.  That makes it hard to click the wheel, without turning it at the same time.  And, for some uses, turning while clicking can be a problem.

I plan to keep using this on my laptop, at least for the next few weeks.  Hopefully, I will quickly adjust to it.

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

