A preliminary report on 12.3 milestone 2

I have installed opensuse 12.3 milestone 2 on three different systems.  This is a preliminary report, in that I have not yet done any extensive testing.  So I am mainly commenting on what I noticed during testing.

All installs discussed here were from a DVD image, written to a USB drive and booting the USB drive to install.

KDE notes

KDE is now at version 4.9.90.  It looks a little different (theme changes, I guess).  It looks rather snazzy.  But I have not done much experimenting with that.

On one system, KWin crashed just after login.  It appears to not like the older ATI graphics card.  I logged out, and then logged back in with KDE failsafe mode.  It has not crashed that way.

Getting into personal settings, I tried to go to “Desktop effects” to disable that.  And it would not let me do so.  It warned me that Desktop effects caused KWin to crash with that graphics card.  Will, no kidding.  But can they at least allow me to disable desktop effects?  Sigh.  I guess I have to copy of $HOME/.kde4 from another system with desktop effects already disabled, as a starting configuration.

Crypto notes

My first install did not use crypto, except for encrypted swap (with a random encryption key).  The installation of that went fine.  I had to disable the Update-non-Oss repo to avoid getting error messages.  I then installed ecryptfs-utils.  And ecryptfs seems to be working out of the box.

My second install was with an encrypted “/home”.  When it was about to do the final install (after completing software selection), it gave me an error message – could not mount “/home”.  I elected to continue anyway.  Inspecting the disk (booting from a different system), I found that there was no entry for “/home” in either “/etc/crypttab” nor in “/etc/fstab”.  I edited in the needed values before rebooting the installed system.  All went reasonably well.

My third install was with an encrypted LVM.  The first problem was during the partitioning.  It refused to allow mounting of “/home”, which was from “/dev/system/home”.  It said that the partition had an unknown file system type.  Sigh!  I went ahead without that.

Continuing with the third system, after software selection I went to the final install.  It gave an error message that formatting of the root file system failed (and gave an option to continue or abort).  Sigh!

CTRL-ALT-F2 got me a command line.  Checking, I found that the directory “/dev/system” did not even exist.  I created it.  I then created the symlinks for the root, home and swap volumes in that LVM.  The device files did exist as “/dev/mapper/system-root”, “/dev/mapper/system-home” and “/dev/mapper/system-swap”, so I could use those to indicate the proper symlinks.  Having created the symlinks, I then formatted the root volume (with “mkfs /dev/system/root”).

After that I did CTRL-ALT-F7 to get back to the install GUI.  There, I told it to continue with the install.  The rest of the install went well, though slowly as this is the older 32 bit system with the old ATI graphics card and a slower PATA disk.  At the end of the install, before the reboot, I used CTRL-ALT-F2 to again get a command line.  There, I added the entry for mounting “/home” to “/etc/fstab” (I had to first mount the root partition of the installed system).  Thereafter, everything went well, apart from the ATI graphics problems mentioned above under KDE notes.

More, later.

Tags: , , ,

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

