Opensuse 12.3 Milestone 2 is available

The iso files for 12.3 milestone 2 are now available.  I am downloading as I write this.  I probably won’t have time to install until tomorrow.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

5 responses to “Opensuse 12.3 Milestone 2 is available”

  1. Roderick says :

    Hi Neil, I follow your posts religiously and is having a problem with the update url for 12.3 m1/2. I have installed from the live cd and the dvd and get the same error, invalid url, for the updates repo. I have searched google and the forums, but find no help. Seems I’m the only one having this problem. I noticed that you said you would not be installing m2 until probably tomorrow, I assume that you’re busy, and I will wait for your response as long as it takes. Thank you.

    Like

    • Neil Rickert says :

      I did not have that problem with M1. However things could have changed.

      As far as I know, the repos for milestones are really the factory repos. They might have forgotten to put a symlink in place.

      You can probably just disable the updates repo. That should allow you to install missing software.

      Like

      • Roderick says :

        Thanks for the help, I was not able to get a working updates repo, even adding the factory repos. I will just wait until we get closer to release before trying again. Thanks

        Like

        • Neil Rickert says :

          I procrastinated on other chores, and installed M2.

          Yast online updates gives an error message about bad meta data. So does “zypper patch”. The latter points to the update-nonOss repo as the problem. Disabling that avoids the meta data error. Yast still complains that update repos are not configured. However, “zypper patch” (which should be equivalent), now works without complaint.

          It is probably a Yast bug.

          Like

Leave a Reply

