A sampling of comment spam

Before I delete some comment spam, I thought I might post a sampler for the benefits of readers who wonder what comment spam is all about.

I’ll note that spam has not been a big problem here.  Like most wordpress blogs, they are checked by akismet, which does an excellent job of identifying spam.  It is set to automatically delete spam on older posts (that seems to be older than 30 days), and to show me spam on newer posts where I can delete or mark them as not spam.  I have seen very few posts that I have had to mark as not spam, and I have seen very few spam that akismet did not flag.  Clearly, akismet is doing very well.

Spam samples

I shall quote each sample, with possibly some defanging (removing urls).  And then I’ll briefly comment below the quoted spam.

Wonderful website layout! I’m happy when I find a great post on the web. Thank you for sharing and I hope you will post more amazing stuff when you feel ready.

I see a lot of spam similar to that.  It looks innocuous enough.  It is mostly empty flattery, though it is occasionally lightly tailored to appear to fit the post to which it comments.  It adds nothing to the discussion.

What makes it spam, is that there is a url associated with the name of the author of the comment (I have chosen to not give the author name).  That url is what is being spammed.  Most likely, the aim is to get that url a better presence in search engines.

WordPress actually gives me the option of deleting the url, and then allowing the comment to post.  Since the comment adds nothing to the discussion, I have not been taking that option.

Sometimes the url is to a non-existent page.  I’m not sure the purpose, but perhaps the plan is to create the page after the spam comments have made it into the blogosphere.

Great beat ! I would like to apprentice even as you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a weblog site? The account helped me a applicable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vivid transparent concept

That’s another spam of the same general type.

listo du email

i’m glad i have seen this website. and i just want to thank you for taking time to write for us. cheers. listo du email listo du email listo du email listo du email listo du email

In the above, I have included the author name for the post, though I included it in a deliberately mangled form.  I have excluded the urls for the spammed site(s).  There was a url with the author name, and with each repetition of that name in the comment text.

Over the last few months, I have received a large number of spams listing this particular author name.  Do not patronize a service such as this, which uses deliberate spamming to advertise.

Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at.

That’s a spam that I see perhaps once or twice per month.  I have deleted a url at the end of the text, in addition to not showing the author name and associated url.  That particular spam is presumably trying to sell something to me as the blog owner.  I ignore these, partly on the principle that one should not patronize spammers, and partly because I have no interest in whatever is being sold.

– buy generic levitra

– generic levitra online

http — (link mangled) — generic levitra online no prescription

And, finally, one that looks like the kind of spam that people see in email.  Again, I have deleted and/or mangled urls in the message text, and I have not shown the author name nor the url associated with the author name.

I see very few of this kind of spam in blog comments, though I do see them in email.

This post was not really intended as a rant, but I’ll categorize it that way.

Tags:

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

