My agenda for tomorrow

Traffic at this blog has picked up over the last few days.  And most of the visits are to pages on opensuse 12.2, particularly my post “Opensuse 12.2 RC2 – a brief review.”  It seems that there is a lot of interest in 12.2.

Well, no wonder.  Tomorrow is the scheduled day for the public release of 12.2 – the final version, not a beta release.  While I don’t expect it to be greatly different from RC2, I am still looking forward to that final release.

So here’s what I tentatively plan to do tomorrow:

  • The first thing will be to check whether the release is up.  If it is, then I will begin a download, using the aria2c software.  I shall probably download the 64bit DVD image first, followed by the 32bit DVD.  I may later download the 32bit KDE live image, as a useful repair tool.  But that can wait a few days.
  • I do have to go to work tomorrow, so I probably won’t have time for anything else until after work.
  • Next will be to write the iso to an 8G USB flash drive.  I will first run “isohybrid” on it.
  • Then installing begins.  The first install will be on my desktop, currently running RC2.  If there is still time left in the day, I’ll plan a brief post on my download and install experience.

Updating other systems to 12.2 may take a few days.  I plan to leave my current laptop on 12.1 for a while.  That’s because I want to experiment with PolicyKit configuration with 12.2, and then test what I learn on 12.1.

I will also have to install latex on my desktop.  That is not on the DVD, so I’ll be doing that over the network.  It can wait a few days, since I can still use latex on the 12.1 system that I’ll keep on my laptop for a while.

 

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

