I hate Microsoft

Though I mainly use linux, I also use Windows.  I mostly have it there for the occasional software that requires it, such as the income tax software that I use to prepare my tax returns.  And I usually try to avoid some of the negative hype about Microsoft that we occasionally hear from linux people.

Yesterday, we purchased a replacement for my wife’s desktop.  So that was a Windows box.

When starting IE, “bing” showed up.  Almost anything typed in resulted in a bing search.  Very annoying.

Checking the “add-remove” programs, I saw that Bing bar was installed.  I removed that.  Technically, I suppose the hardware vendor is responsible for installing that, though I suspect that there was a lot of Microsoft marketing pressure behind it.

After uninstalling bing bar, I opened IE.  The default home page had everything grayed out except a small panel with a button to click to install Bing bar.  I went into Internet options, and set the home page to blank to stop that nonsense.

As a side note, I’ll mention that when checking for Windows update, there is Bing bar as an optional update.

The next step was to change the search defaults to google.  Clicking on the settings button opened a page with a list of search engines, where I could select the default.  Yes, you guessed right.  That list had exactly one entry, namely Bing.

I looked for a way of entering the google url into the search list.  There did not seem to be an option.  It turned out that entries in the search list are “add-ons”, and to change I had to click on a link for search add-ons.

Clicking on the link, I got a page with many choices.  It sure looked like one of those pages where if you click on something, you are immediately infected by drive-by malware.  The page was probably safe, and I was able to get google into the search list.  But why is Microsoft training its users on how to pickup malware infections?

Did I mention that I hate Microsoft?

Well, okay, that last statement is a bit overhyped.  But really, Microsoft, with this kind of nonsense, you deserve your reputation as having weak security policies.  And, honestly, Microsoft, if you want people to use Bing, then make it so good as a search engine that people will flock to it.  When you try to foist it on users with your monopolistic influence, you are announcing to the world that Bing is a poor search engine that will only be adopted by use of these sleazy methods.

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

2 responses to “I hate Microsoft”

  1. John says :

    hahaha just came by by accident and thought, oh my, another rant!
    but reading through the whole was quite funny. I uninstalled the bing bar too with our new laptop. First thing on it was Firefox. Mozilla supposedly makes $ 300.000.000 dollar with Google each year, so finding the Google search was rather easy 😀

    Nice read, thanks!

    Like

    • Neil Rickert says :

      The bing bar didn’t bother me that much, since I would only rarely use this computer (mostly for backups and other administrative tasks). But when my wife tried it, the first thing she did was ask me to get rid of bing.

      If this were a computer that I would regularly use, then firefox and PuTTY would be the first two things installed. After that, I would be shrinking the Windows partition to make room for linux.

      I normally avoid the various online operating system rants. People can choose whichever they prefer, and they don’t need my opinion on that. But this time, I think Microsoft deserved some criticism.

      Like

Leave a Reply

