Testing opensuse 12.2 milestone 2

I have been playing with milestone 2 (or M2 for short) test release.

Grub2: The major change, since M1, has been the use of grub2 as boot manager.  The grub2 boot screen is rather spartan.  It does not include options to boot Windows, though I could add those myself.  But it is a work in progress that is going through the first stage of testing.  But the time 12.2 final is released, I expect it to be in good shape.

KDE version is 4.8.1: This changes from 4.8.0 in M1.  I have not explored it enough yet to know whether there are new quirks.

Kernel is 3.3 rc6: The odd thing about the kernel, is that for 32 bit installs only the default kernel appears to be available.  The repos do not contain other kernels (such as the desktop kernel).  The 64 bit version has the usual selection of kernels.

WiFi now works properly on my broadcom card.  That failed with M1.

Encryption appears to be working as it should.  With M1, there were timeouts setting up the crypto, though it eventually worked.  Those timeouts are gone.

The Intel graphics driver is unstable.  The desktop crashed frequently.  Just moving the mouse over the NetworkManager tray icon would cause the desktop to crash and restart. On the system with Intel graphics, I am now booting with “nomodeset” so as to avoid that unstable driver.

I guess I must have downloaded and started testing a bit early.  The roadmap page indicates that M2 was released on Thursday, 20 March 2012, while I did a first install on March 19th.  I wonder what calender they are using, for March 20 was a Tuesday around here.

Tags: ,

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

6 responses to “Testing opensuse 12.2 milestone 2”

  1. michalng says :

    Using opensuse 12.2 milestone 2 as well.

    KDE4 and nouveau behaves perfectly so far.

    Any idea how to get a wireless connection when switching from KDE4 to a lighter windows manager like icewm or fluxbox?

    Like

    • Neil Rickert says :

      I have not used fluxbox.

      For “icewm”, you will need to install the default version, rather than the lite version that is normally installed. That allows panels and some panel applets.

      You can use a shell script $HOME/.icewm/startup to automatically start applications.

      In my “startup” script, I have

      /usr/lib/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 &
      nm-applet &
      

      That starts the gnome NetworkManager applet in the panel, and you should be able to use that to configure networks. I have not tested very thoroughly, since I actually setup my networks in KDE and make them system networks so that they start even before a login. I’m starting the polkit agent, because I’m pretty sure that nm-applet won’t allow you to configure networks without it.

      Like

      • michalng says :

        Thanks for the pointers,

        didn’t have /usr/lib/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 on my system but found /usr/lib/polkit-kde4-authentication-agent-1 instead

        wireless applet is working but needs me to input the password everytime, somehow kwallet does not provides the password like when I boot into kde4

        maybe when ready, I will update my whole experience onto opensuse forum so that the next user who is interested to try out fluxbox have less head scratching to do

        ciao

        Like

        • Neil Rickert says :

          I forgot to mention that you would probably have to install the gnome polkit agent (seems to be called “polkit-gnome”) and the gnome network manager applet. Or installing LXDE should bring them both in.

          I install a lot, because I like to test stuff. I mostly use either KDE or icewm when I want to get stuff done.

          Like

  2. michalng says :

    Same here, mostly uses KDE when I wants to get stuff done.

    Anyway, just to share the outcome of my trail here; with or without

    /usr/lib/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 and/or /usr/lib/polkit-kde4-authentication-agent-1

    wireless applet still works but needs me to input the password everytime, which isn’t too troublesome.

    and nm-applet can be obtained by installing the package NetworkManager-gnome.

    Maybe the next time I’ll try icewm just for fun.

    Like

    • Neil Rickert says :

      Thanks for the update.

      I normally use KDE4 on my main desktop and laptop. I have an older laptop (8 years old) relegated to testing purposes, and I often use icewm there because it starts up faster. Similarly, I have a still older desktop at work (at least 12 years old), where I normally use icewm. Both older machines will run KDE4, but startup is slow and I don’t use them for anything fancy, so icewm works fine for what I do on them.

      On both of the older machines, I installed the full icewm, rather than the “lite” version that is auto-installed with opensuse. The full version (apparently called the default version) has better panel support, so nm-applet works there.

      The older desktop doesn’t do WiFi. The older laptop does. I setup WiFi connections on it with KDE4, and checked the box for a system connection. With those settings, the connection is made before any login and works fine in icewm. In your case, since you have both KDE4 and fluxbox, the trick would be to setup wifi connections in KDE4 and configure them as system connections. Then they should be available in fluxbox.

      Running both nm-applet and the gnome polkit agent under icewm, if I try to edit a system connection, that appears to work fine, prompting for the root password as needed. But I did not try saving any changes, so I don’t know if it really works.

      Incidentally, that 8 year old laptop is currently running 12.2 milestone 2. Since I mainly use that system for testing purposes, it made sense for me to upgrade. On my newer systems, I put 12.2 milestone 2 on alternate partitions, but use 12.1 for production use.

      Like

Leave a Reply

