Steve Jobs

I started this blog only a couple of days after Jobs died.  Yet, till now, I have not posted anything about him.  That’s mostly because I didn’t have anything to say that fits the tone usually seen in such memorials.

I have now come across a different kind of comment.  It is from Richard Stallman, who writes:

Steve Jobs, the pioneer of the computer as a jail made cool, designed to sever fools from their freedom, has died.

Well, that’s a bit harsher than anything I might have wanted to say.  But, truth to tell, I have never been a fan of Apple products.  I never had any interest in owning them.  I have used the original Mac and some recent Macs.  I did not much like them.

As a mathematician, when I am solving a numeric problem I don’t care only about the final numbers that come from the computation.  I also care very much about the procedures being followed.  Apple products have seemed to me to be designed to deliver final outputs, but to conceal the all important procedures by which those outputs were obtained.

I don’t actually have anything negative to say about Steve Jobs.  He has passed, and I would not have even noticed were it not for the blazing headlines elsewhere.  He was just one of the many people who make products that do not interest me.

 

About Neil Rickert

Retired mathematician and computer scientist who dabbles in cognitive science.

Leave a Reply

